Clinical Advisory Committee


The Clinical Advisory Committee (CAC) is an essential component of oversight of the clinical system of care. The CAC is composed of clinical staff from provider organizations representing various disciplines and disabilities, as well as member and family representatives. This Committee is a forum that discusses clinical treatment practices with a primary objective to review and approve Evidence Based Practices (EBPs) and Clinical Guidelines for MH/IDD/SA diagnoses for use by our Cardinal Innovations Provider Network. The CAC also identifies educational and training needs for network providers and staff, evaluates service utilization management performance against stated goals and monitors clinical guideline implementation data. The Committee also has a leadership role in developing clinical guidelines that include cultural factors that are important in achieving optimum outcomes for members.

Clinical Advisory Committee Members

​​Barbara Agnello, PhD, BCBA-D
Ben Millsap, MSW, LCSW, LCAS, CCS
Christine Beck, LPC, LCAS
Ranota Hall, MD
Emily Smith, MSW, LCSW
George Demakis, PhD
J. Allen Melvin, MD, PA
Keith McCoy, MD
Leesa Bain, RN, BSN, MHA
Mackie Johnson, MSW
Pamela Rankin, LPC, LCAS
Patricia Babin, PhD, PharmD
Will Woodell, COO
Erica Arrington, MD
James Rachal, MD
Philip Nofal, MD, JD
Ruth Reynolds 
Sarah Huffman, MSW, LCSW
Cardinal Innovations
Monarch NC​
Cardinal Innovations
Cardinal Innovations
Cardinal Innovations​
UNCC , Psychology and Health Psychology        
Arboretum Psychiatry

Cardinal Innovation​s
​Cardinal Innovations
Anuvia Prevention and Recovery Center
Daymark Recover Services
Cardinal Innovations
Cardinal Innovations
UNC Center for Mental Health
Carolinas Healthcare System
Daymark Recovery Services
Mecklenburg Consumer and Family Advisory Chair
RHA Behavioral Health Services​​

Clinical Advisory Committee Documentation/Minutes​

Clinical Advisory Committee
Meeting Schedule

  • January 25, 2016 at 12 p.m.
  • April 25, 2016 at 12 p.m.
  • July 25, 2016 at 12 p.m.
  • ​October 2​4, 2016 at 12 p.m.